Meet A Co-Founder – Ben Tincher Edition

Today we will be looking into the history and life of one of our Co-Founders.  Ben Tincher is here to answer the tough questions…  Please leave us your own question for Ben in the comments!

 What is your full name?

Benjamin Tincher

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in a town outside of Atlanta named Conyers, GA

Where do you live now?

I currently live in Ormond Beach, FL.  My wife and I moved to Golden, CO for a year which we loved but family, cost of living, and job opportunities has brought us back to FL where we were before we moved.

Relationship status?

I am married to the most beautiful, caring, and dedicated wife.  Her name is Melissa.

7 College Must Do’s

Where did you attend college and what did you study?

I attended undergraduate school at Clemson University and studied Materials Engineering.  I then attended graduate school at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University where I studied Aerospace Engineering.

What else did you do in college?

I did many things in college outside of the classroom, but the thing that I did the most was play on the club Ultimate team.  I loved playing Ultimate, going to practice, seeing teammates around campus, going to weekend tournaments at other colleges, and getting together for team social events.  Ultimate was more than just a sport, it was my extended family while I was on campus.

The other thing that I really enjoyed during college was D1 sports games, especially football and basketball.  I knew I wanted to go to a school with D1 athletics before I entered college, so I had that as one of my school selection criteria.  This criteria was not my main one of course and isn’t a good one for everybody, but I knew I would love the sports teams.

7 Senior Level Study Tips for College Freshmen with BONUS PRO TIP

What is one thing that you remember about entering college for the first semester?

I remember a whole lot of excitement and nervousness mixed together.  The freshmen got to campus a week early before classes began and that week just felt like summer camp!  Which was awesome… and weird at the same time.  But, as soon as classes began and the campus filled up, I felt like a part of the community in no time.  I think that is why it is very important to consider the atmosphere of a college when choosing one.  You will want to feel like a part of the community.  I felt very comfortable at Clemson, and I believe that helped me a lot in my studies.  I didn’t feel as comfortable at Embry-Riddle because the dynamics of the school were a lot different than Clemson and my coursework was different too.  So, I had to learn how to shift a little bit in grad school.

Why are you starting College Career Success?

I see a lot of students that simply do not have the necessary tools and insight to make fully considered decisions when choosing where and how to go to college and what to study.  When students don’t know what they want or even how to figure out what they want, it can cost them A TON of time and money down the road.  The awful thing is that these decisions made just out of high school don’t really catch up to you until early in your professional career.  The time when you need security and confidence the most!

A college graduate can suddenly find himself in major financial debt only to realize that they have a college degree in a field that they are not truly interested in.  But, to pay off all the debt, the graduate must get a job anyway if possible.  All of these decisions were made long before this realization.

I really want to help young students better understand themselves and their potential future, so that they can set themselves on the right path for college and career success.  I wonder where we got the name…

The Yerkes-Dodson Law – Huh? Don’t Stress About It… Or Do!

What is one thing that you are glad you did in college that has benefitted you today?

Probably the best thing I did for my profession in college was complete several different internships.  Internships gave me first hand experience into potential careers.  I was able to learn what I liked and what I didn’t like in different jobs.  I gained professional skills not taught in the classroom.  And, I earned a paycheck!

What is one thing that you wish you could have done differently during college?

I wish that I could have known all the tips and tricks as a freshman that I knew as a senior.  I know that sounds a little obvious, but there were many things that someone could’ve simply told me.  Instead I had to learn a lot of things by experience.  Simple things from buying textbooks to how to study for tests.  It would have been nice to learn a lot of it sooner; it certainly would have saved me a lot of time and money!  Sneak peek in the future of College Career Success… we hope to create a course for freshman who are just beginning college to help them with all of these tips and tricks!

What are your hobbies?

I am an engineer to the core, so I love to build things!  Cars, boats, motorcycles, rc boats, planes, cars… anything that can be designed and built.  I also still like to play Ultimate.  And, I’m attempting to make furniture a little bit.

Top 5 Things to Consider When Choosing a College Major

Make Less, Earn More

Author: collegecareersuccess

Working to set you on the right path for your future career. Find the COLLEGE and MAJOR that fits YOU... and drastically CUT THE COST of college!!

3 thoughts on “Meet A Co-Founder – Ben Tincher Edition”

Leave a Reply

