The Importance of Grades

Our post today is from Dr. Jonathan Golding’s blog ‘Beginners Guide To College Success’. This article is an excellent point on why your grades in college matter! Let’s hear from Dr. Golding!

Beginner's Guide to College Success

After teaching for almost 30 years, I have come to accept that not every student will earn a good grade in my courses—to me a good grade is an A or a B. This was a bit tough for me to deal with when I first started teaching, because I had naively assumed that everyone wanted to get a good grade. I had always “gone for the A” in college (even with a busy work schedule), why wouldn’t my students too. Some students may be in a real bind as far as good grades because their ability to devote time and effort into my courses is limited by job responsibilities, military service, or by personal difficulties (including mental issues). However, there are a number of students whose lack of motivation and willingness to give their maximum effort in my classes is driven by a view that grades are simply unimportant…

View original post 809 more words

Author: collegecareersuccess

Working to set you on the right path for your future career. Find the COLLEGE and MAJOR that fits YOU... and drastically CUT THE COST of college!!

Leave a Reply

